The Garden

Tomato Cage idea

Tomato Cage

There are many ways to support your tomato plants during the growing season. Below is one way I have adopted to make life easier with those vining indeterminate tomatoes including the cherries. I like this method as all I have to do is keep the plants growing within the cage and can let it do […]

Tomato Cage idea Read More »

Growing carrots in Tasmania

growing carrots in tasmania

How I grow carrots in Tasmania   Carrots are a perfect crop for the Tasmanian as you can nearly grow an all year round supply. You really want to sow carrots in loose, compost-rich soil free of pebbles, stones or other large objects. I regularly plant straight into fresh organic compost from the Hobart tip

Growing carrots in Tasmania Read More »

New Seed Packets: 25 August 2021

New Seed Packets uploaded today (25 Aug):   Lebanese Zucchini https://www.davesseed.com/product/lebanese-zucchini/ Radish Hailstone https://www.davesseed.com/product/radish-hailstone/ Bush Bean Royal Burgundy https://www.davesseed.com/product/bush-bean-royal-burgundy/ Celeriac White Alabaster https://www.davesseed.com/product/celeriac-white-alabaster/ Lettuce Iceberg https://www.davesseed.com/product/lettuce-iceberg/ Spring Onion Tokyo Long White https://www.davesseed.com/…/spring-bunching-onion…/ Watermelon Golden Midget https://www.davesseed.com/product/watermelon-golden-midget/ Onion Red Rippa https://www.davesseed.com/product/onion-red-rippa/ Mustard Green Yukina Savoy https://www.davesseed.com/pro…/mustard-green-yukina-savoy/ Sorrel Red Vein https://www.davesseed.com/product/sorrel-red-veined/

New Seed Packets: 25 August 2021 Read More »

Growing Asian Greens in Tasmania

Growing Asian Greens

Growing Asian Greens in Tasmania Growing Asian Greens is quite new to many Australian gardeners, well quite new to me over the past decade anyway. I first started with Mizuna and Mibuna and was surprised at the high yields collected over that winter. Since then I have been experimenting with many different varieties with failures and

Growing Asian Greens in Tasmania Read More »

New Seed Packets added 10/8 and 11/8

New Seed Packets

New seed packets uploaded last couple of days  Sunflower Radiance https://www.davesseed.com/product/sunflower-radiance/ Tomato Black Russian https://www.davesseed.com/product/black-russian-tomato/ Silverbeet Ruby https://www.davesseed.com/product/silverbeet-ruby/ Cauliflower Purple Sicily https://www.davesseed.com/product/cauliflower-purple-sicily/ Komatsuna Red F1 https://www.davesseed.com/product/komatsuna-red-f1/ Viola White Perfectionhttps://www.davesseed.com/product/viola-white-perfection/ Salvia Tricolour mixhttps://www.davesseed.com/product/salvia-tricolour-mix/ Cosmos Sensation Dazzler https://www.davesseed.com/product/cosmos-sensation-dazzler/ Tomatillo Peubla Verde https://www.davesseed.com/product/tomatillo-puebla-verde/ Carrot Atomic Red https://www.davesseed.com/product/carrot-atomic-red/ Carrot Paris Market https://www.davesseed.com/product/carrot-paris-market/ Hon Tsai Tai https://www.davesseed.com/…/hon-tsai-tai-purple…/ Pak Choy Chokito F1 https://www.davesseed.com/product/pak-choy-chokito-f1/ Cabbage Savoy Vertus  https://www.davesseed.com/product/cabbage-savoy-vertus/

New Seed Packets added 10/8 and 11/8 Read More »

New Seed Packets 4/8/2021

New Seed Packets uploaded today 4/8/2021 Mustard Ruby Streaks Beetroot Chiogga  Cucumber Muncher Burpless (Lebanese)  Cucumber Crystal Salad  Basil Thai  Mexican Sunflower  Pak Choy White Stem  Leek American Flag  Batavian Broadleaf endive  Chicory witloof  Chicory Red Dandelion Melon Mountain Sweet 

New Seed Packets 4/8/2021 Read More »

Tips on germinating Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant in Tasmania

Tips on germinating Tomato

Tips on germinating Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant From now until September, many of us gardeners are going through the yearly ritual of prepping our summer heat lovers and attempting to germinate the seeds of Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant. These delicious heat lovers are marginal for our climate and it can be challenging to

Tips on germinating Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant in Tasmania Read More »

Shopping Cart