Tomato Season in Tasmania 2021/22

indigo rose tomato

Thoughts on the 2021/22 Tomato growing season. Yet another season is now pretty much behind us Tasmanian’s. Yet another erratic season of ups and downs. Below are some of my thoughts on the season gone and a review of the tomato varieties I grew (either outside or in the hothouse). These are my experiences where …

Tomato Season in Tasmania 2021/22 Read More »

Growing Brussels Sprouts in Tasmania

Growing Brussels Sprouts in Tasmania

Growing Brussels Sprouts in Tasmania I am an avid fan of what seems to be the controversial Brussel Sprout. Autumn to winter sprouts steamed with some butter is all I need; however my wife turns them into some delicious sides for dinner. Like other vegetables in the Brassicaceae family such as Broccoli and Cauliflower, Brussels …

Growing Brussels Sprouts in Tasmania Read More »

New tomato varieties available batch 2

Gondwana Moon tomato

New batch of tomato varieties ready as follows: Northern Delight – early variety https://www.davesseed.com/product/northern-delight-tomato/ Pepper Like Stripes. Great Roma alternative https://www.davesseed.com/product/pepper-like-stripes-tomato/ Silver Fir – another early variety https://www.davesseed.com/product/silver-fir-tomato/ Gernaium Kiss – prolific red cherry on a dwarf https://www.davesseed.com/product/geranium-kiss-tomato/ Early Wonder https://www.davesseed.com/product/early-wonder-tomato/ Snow White https://www.davesseed.com/product/snow-white-tomato/ Dwarf Golden Heart https://www.davesseed.com/product/dwarf-golden-heart-tomato/ Early Annie https://www.davesseed.com/product/early-annie-tomato/ Dwarf Boronia (Cherokee Purple like fruit) https://www.davesseed.com/product/boronia-tomato/ dwarf Gondwana Moon – love this …

New tomato varieties available batch 2 Read More »

February and Summer Weather Data

weather summer

Below shows the weather data for February and the 21/22 summer based on the weather station at my property (Cradoc Huon Valley)  

Growing carrots in Tasmania

growing carrots in tasmania

How I grow carrots in Tasmania   Carrots are a perfect crop for the Tasmanian as you can nearly grow an all year round supply. You really want to sow carrots in loose, compost-rich soil free of pebbles, stones or other large objects. I regularly plant straight into fresh organic compost from the Hobart tip …

Growing carrots in Tasmania Read More »

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania. Pumpkins are a favourite for the veggie gardener and feels like a sign of achievement in the middle of winter when you have a pantry ladened of big sweet pumpkins. But Tasmania is a marginal climate for these warm weather lovers. By this I mean that our summer growing season is …

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania Read More »

New Seed Packets 3/11/21

new seed packets

Latest seed packets available now: Kohlrabi – early Purple Vienna Lettuce Flashy Trout Back Coriander Allegro Squash Delica F1 Kaboocha Mustard Wasabina Celery Amsterdam Cut

New Seed Packets – 17 October 2021

new seed packets

The following seed packets have been added to the website over the past few days: – Chilli Thai Hot (birds eye type) https://www.davesseed.com/product/chilli-thai-hot/ – Wild Bergamot (a must for attracting beneficial insects) https://www.davesseed.com/product/bergamot-wild/ – Korean Mint (looks lovely just as a flowering plant) https://www.davesseed.com/product/mint-korean/ – White flowered Borage https://www.davesseed.com/product/borage-white/ – Asparagus Precoce dÁrgenteuil https://www.davesseed.com/…/asparagus-precoce-dargenteuil/ – Anise https://www.davesseed.com/product/anise/ – Silverbeet Golden Sunrise …

New Seed Packets – 17 October 2021 Read More »

Shopping Cart