Tomato Cage idea

Tomato Cage

There are many ways to support your tomato plants during the growing season. Below is one way I have adopted to make life easier with those vining indeterminate tomatoes including the cherries. I like this method as all I have to do is keep the plants growing within the cage and can let it do […]

Tomato Cage idea Read More »

Growing Broad Beans in Tasmania

broad bean coles dwarf

Growing Broad Beans in Tasmania Broad beans are a perfect crop for the cool temperate climate of Tasmania. They are a bushy annual that can grow from 1 to 1.8m tall depending on the variety, soils and weather. Broad Beans (Fava) are a legume thus from the Fabaceae family but are not from the Bean

Growing Broad Beans in Tasmania Read More »

Tomato Season in Tasmania 2021/22

indigo rose tomato

Thoughts on the 2021/22 Tomato growing season. Yet another season is now pretty much behind us Tasmanian’s. Yet another erratic season of ups and downs. Below are some of my thoughts on the season gone and a review of the tomato varieties I grew (either outside or in the hothouse). These are my experiences where

Tomato Season in Tasmania 2021/22 Read More »

New tomato varieties available batch 2

Gondwana Moon tomato

New batch of tomato varieties ready as follows: Northern Delight – early variety https://www.davesseed.com/product/northern-delight-tomato/ Pepper Like Stripes. Great Roma alternative https://www.davesseed.com/product/pepper-like-stripes-tomato/ Silver Fir – another early variety https://www.davesseed.com/product/silver-fir-tomato/ Gernaium Kiss – prolific red cherry on a dwarf https://www.davesseed.com/product/geranium-kiss-tomato/ Early Wonder https://www.davesseed.com/product/early-wonder-tomato/ Snow White https://www.davesseed.com/product/snow-white-tomato/ Dwarf Golden Heart https://www.davesseed.com/product/dwarf-golden-heart-tomato/ Early Annie https://www.davesseed.com/product/early-annie-tomato/ Dwarf Boronia (Cherokee Purple like fruit) https://www.davesseed.com/product/boronia-tomato/ dwarf Gondwana Moon – love this

New tomato varieties available batch 2 Read More »

Growing carrots in Tasmania

growing carrots in tasmania

How I grow carrots in Tasmania   Carrots are a perfect crop for the Tasmanian as you can nearly grow an all year round supply. You really want to sow carrots in loose, compost-rich soil free of pebbles, stones or other large objects. I regularly plant straight into fresh organic compost from the Hobart tip

Growing carrots in Tasmania Read More »

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania. Pumpkins are a favourite for the veggie gardener and feels like a sign of achievement in the middle of winter when you have a pantry ladened of big sweet pumpkins. But Tasmania is a marginal climate for these warm weather lovers. By this I mean that our summer growing season is

Growing Pumpkins in Tasmania Read More »

Shopping Cart