Tips on germinating Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant in Tasmania

Tips on germinating Tomato

Tips on germinating Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant From now until September, many of us gardeners are going through the yearly ritual of prepping our summer heat lovers and attempting to germinate the seeds of Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant. These delicious heat lovers are marginal for our climate and it can be challenging to …

Tips on germinating Tomatoes, Chilli, Capsicum and Eggplant in Tasmania Read More »

Growing Peas in Tasmania

growing peas in tasmania

Growing Peas in Tasmania Growing Peas are an ideal crop for places like Tasmania with a cool climate as they have time to mature before the weather gets warm. The ideal growing temperature for peas is 13-21°C, a range commonly seen from winter to summer here. Sow peas in the garden 6 weeks before the …

Growing Peas in Tasmania Read More »

New Seed Packets 7/7/2021

seed packets

After a -2 C overnight and heavy frost, I decided to add new seed packets to the website today rather than sowing seedlings to save my hands. New seed packets as follows: Borlotti Bean Red Rooster https://www.davesseed.com/product/borlotti-bean-red-rooster/ Radish Cherry Belle https://www.davesseed.com/product/radish-cherry-belle/ Radish Zlata Yellow https://www.davesseed.com/product/radish-zlata-yellow/ Broccoli Leaf Spigariello https://www.davesseed.com/product/broccoli-leaf-spigariello/ Blue Hyssop https://www.davesseed.com/product/blue-hyssop/ Sweet Pea Royal Family mixhttps://www.davesseed.com/pro…/sweet-pea-royal-family-mix/ Lemon Mint/Bergamot https://www.davesseed.com/product/lemon-mint/ Mountain Spinach Aurora …

New Seed Packets 7/7/2021 Read More »

The weeds in my Veggie Patch

The common weeds around my vegetable garden in the Huon Valley, Tasmania I spent more than 15 years working as an Ecologist across Queensland and Tasmania. One of the advantages of this was knowing what weeds I had popping up in my veggie patch. Below is a list of a few of the more common …

The weeds in my Veggie Patch Read More »

Shopping Cart